2022 New Year’s Goal

So this year dawned with me realizing I wanted my goal to include something with reading.

After debating about maybe banned books and others, I decided that I wanted to broaden my horizons…

So…

My GOAL: To read books from as many countries around the world as I can. The caveat is that the books need to be written preferably by someone who lives in that country. If I cannot find those authors, then I can accept books written by travelers.


Books Read Prior to 2022

In order to improve my worldly knowledge, I have chosen to count books I have previously read about world regions.

Those include:

  • Afghanistan One Half from the East by Nadia Hashimi – An enlightening story about the “growing up” of a young girl into the next stage of her life.
  • Antarctica – Ross Ice shelf – Terra Incognita by Sara Wheeler – Journey of an artist to live among the scientists on the Ross Ice Shelf in McMurdo Base. Amazing story about the experiences and expeditions that she was a part of. I enjoyed her dialogue to prepare for my own journey to Antarctica.
  • Argentina Daughter of Fortune by Isabella Allende. Interesting view into the historical world in Chile. But read many years ago, so I may add another about Argentina to my list.
  • AustriaThe Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Fantastic book about about book banning and clandestine searches for new books to read by a young girl in Austria.
  • Democratic Republic of the CongoHow Dare the Sun Rise by Sandra Uwiringiyimana. From harrowing civil war to a refugee program to immigration to the USA, the story based on real-life take you on a journey to begin to process what fleeing people go through. Her strength to keep going is infused throughout the book.
  • Galapagos IslandsShipped by Angie Hockman. Easy read and fun read about a travel cruise in the Galapagos. Written by an employee that I know at Lindblad Expeditions. I will most likely still read a local’s book about the Galapagos also.
  • HondurasEnrique’s Journey by Sonia Nazario. Author interviewed Enrique and then traveled his journey using the trains and other modes to replicate. Interviewed others on the same sort of journey. Boy’s journey to reach his mother in the USA. Quite an eye-opening experience to try to process what an immigrant endures and is willing to endure to reach their goal (in this case his mother).
  • IcelandOperation Napoleon by Arnaldur Indriðason. Fantastic thriller/mystery novel based on the Vatnajökull Glacier. Read in preparing to travel to Iceland. Was amazed once I traveled at how the author had distinctly recreated the landscape and feel of Iceland. Conspiracy theory has always surrounded what happened to Hitler and thoughts about Argentina – this novel weaves in an interesting twist with the glacier in Iceland. I actually re-read it after returning from my second trip to Iceland.
  • IndiaThe Bridge Home by Padma Venkatraman. WOW – one of those books that make you begin to think how can you help. Story of siblings living as orphans on the streets in an urban city in India.
  • Lithuania – Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. Takes place on an ocean liner that sank in WWII in the Baltic. Follows 4 characters and their journey – hard to put down this book! Sepetys is from Lithuania refugee parents.
  • PeruTurn Left at Machu Picchu by Mark Adams. Travel blog about his journey to retrace Hiram Bingham’s search for Machu Picchu. Great and easy read. Would like to still find something written by a Peruvian.
  • PhilippinesEverlasting Nora by Marie Miranda Cruz. Easy read following the life of a young girl growing up in the cemeteries of Manila. Heart-breaking to know that this is how many kids are living. The story weaves in not only the dangers, but the realities of how to even obtain toothpaste.
  • Sierra Leone a long way gone: memoirs of a boy soldier by Ishmael Baeh. What a journey and a scary time of life for him. Insight into what civil war can do to a country and to young children.
  • SingaporeCrazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan. Loved it to the point that I read the rest of the series! Did not care for the movie as the book “painted” all of the characters in vivid detail.
  • SudanWhat the what? by Dave Eggers (Autobiography of Valentino Achak Deng). WOW – one of those books that makes you truly wonder how people have the strength and will-power to keep going. Follows Sudan’s Lost Boys generation through the war and into refugee camps and then into transiting into life in an American city.
  • United Kingdom – EnglandThe Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper by Phaedra Patrick. Awesome book about living life and grieving when you lose a loved one. Arthur has given up on doing anything until he finds his wife’s charm bracelet with a life he never knew about. Each visit to discover her life before him leads him to learn more about himself.
  • United States – Indigenous PeoplesThe Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley. WOW – a read I didn’t want to put down as it offered insight into the feelings and thoughts of a life I’ve never lived. So many perceptions about indigenous peoples that intertwine to create inequities even within their own communities. So are these creations the result of continued policies of inequity like redlining – I suspect so. Edge of the seat read.
  • United States of AmericaThe Wish by Nicholas Sparks. A typical Sparks journey with 2/3rds of setting in Ocracoke. Having vacationed on Ocracoke since my 20s and having friends who live there created a personal connection as I knew the places included in the book.
  • Vietnam Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai. Great book on the journey of a refugee from Vietnam to the USA. Look inside of many cultural differences that helped me consider more about my ELL students.
  • ZimbabweI’ll Always Write Back by Caitlin Alifirenka and Martin Ganda. YA – great true story of how one pen pal relationship changed two young people in more ways than they could have ever imagined. Looks at their angst and worries over perceptions as they decide what to include in their letters.

If you have any suggestions, I would love to hear about them!!! See the PDF below.

My Book Reading List


Here’s where I’ve been so far…

Book #1 – Denmark

Book #2 – Tasmania, Australia

Book #3 – China

Book #4 – Tonga

Leave a comment